Turtleneck Tuesday

Taco Tuesday is a fantastic institution and a great way to get through the week. But let’s be honest, you have to wait until after the work day is finished to truly enjoy it. Binge drinking, and power eating tacos are not encouraged during most office lunch hours. But neck insulation on the other hand, is always welcome. Not to mention a good turtleneck, screams “smart dresser”.  Here are just a few more reasons to wear turtlenecks on Tuesday besides them both starting with T -

  • They protect your neck from paper cuts
  • Double chins are now camouflaged
  • You automatically look like a jazz musician or college professor. You only have to change your hat, and who doesn’t like options.
  • Scarves make you look like you’re trying too hard. While turtlenecks just mean you’re practical.
  • James Bond and Steve McQueen both wore them.

turtleneck_tuesday

If I couldn’t convince you to wear turtlenecks with the above information, then you’re probably more of a tank top person. And if that’s the case I’d rather not be associated with you. It’s rare that anybody looks good in a tank top. Most people have gross arms and need a tan, or to learn to use gel deodorant. White dreadlocks armpit hair is not attractive for either sex. Not even in Europe. So do yourself a favor, and start wearing turtlenecks. Your neck will thank you.

The amazing artwork is done courtesy of Jon Hunter over at Pastrami Basket. And today is the one year anniversary of his blog. A Pastramiversary if you will. We’ve worked together in the past, on the Dinner Party post, and on my eBook cover. He’s a super talented artist, that you should definitely be checking out. Now go forth and enjoy tacos, neck warmth, and some awesome art.

40 thoughts on “Turtleneck Tuesday

  1. Pingback: Pastramiversary!!! | pastramibasket

  2. Happy Pastramiversary!! Personally, I use my turtleneck for hiding in case I am approached by coworkers. It’s a bit like an invisibility cloak.

  3. On special Tuesdays I wear a green turtleneck with a costume turtle shell and pretend like I’m a ninja turtle. People around the office seem to not mind that now that I’ve stopped wearing a cape to work.

  4. Haha! Definitely LOL’d to the point of nearly falling out of my office chair. Which has happened. On multiple occasions. My dad is the KING of turtlenecks, but conversely, he also insists on baring his too-white-for-words-Scandinavian-arms in the ever-hated tank top in the summer. You hit the nail on the proverbial head: the hair, the arm flab, the stench…tank tops are not meant for everyone. Sorry dad.

    P.S. Mmmmm…tacos :)

      • I can’t speak for everyone, but when I have a well crafted taco (crunchy or soft, it makes no difference), I actually scream it aloud. Especially when it’s fish taco time. I imagine myself aboard the HMS Surprise. We just finished kicking Frencher Navy butt in the South Pacific and we’re moored off the coast of Bora Bora. It helps that I had more than a days ration of Navy proof Rum too. HUZZAH!

  5. You know who else wore a turtleneck? Steve Jobs. And I can’t help but feel the girl on the right is Velma Dinkley of Scooby Doo. AmIRight???

    I would like a comprehensive list of every historical figure to wear a turtleneck. Thanks.

  6. Wow, I didn’t realize that Taco Tuesday happens all over the country! I thought it was unique to my city. How tacocentric of me. And turtlenecks – yes, so useful. They also serve as napkins in a pinch.

    Nice cartoon, Pastrami! Happy b-day

  7. Sorry, no turtlenecks for me. I don’t like anything around my neck. With all the scratching I do while wearing one, I look like I’ve been attacked by the end of the night, scratch marks all over my neck. It’s a Sheldon Cooper thing, I guess…

  8. Well,, it’s a fair argument. Though I’m a v-neck girl. And feel way over committed in a turtle neck. And always thought they square. And momish. But hey- you love them and drew cuteness to match, so whatever makes you happy!

  9. Oh I love this. I can see that you’ve already got some Australian input above but well, to be honest it’s only cold enough to wear a skivvy or turtleneck for two days per year in the state of perpetual sunshine (Western Australia). I like seeing them in the shops though, it makes me feel like we actually have seasonal variation (when in reality, well… every skivvy that I’ve owned has ended up at the thrift store after a few months). I like the pastrami illustration. And tacos. In fact, I should probably try pastrami tacos. Though that would bring the additional dilemma of whether to drink Mexican or Italian beer on Taco Tuesday…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,318 other followers

